Hip Hop Press has moved: www.hiphoppress.com

You may also dig:
ProHipHop - Hip Hop Marketing & Business News
Weekly Hip Hop Albums - New Releases

Try World Cypher's Hip Hop Search Engine:


The Biggest Names in Movies & Music Light Up The Night At The 2005 MTV Movie Awards

"Napoleon Dynamite" Takes "Best Movie," Ties With "Mean Girls" For Most Wins - With 3 Golden Popcorns Each

Movie Vet Dustin Hoffman Nabs Best Comedic Performance While Uma Thurman And Daryl Hannah Kick The Competition To Win Best Fight

2005 MTV Movie Awards Airs June 9TH AT 8:30 P.M.(ET/PT)

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., June 5 /PRNewswire/ -- With a theme of "behind the scenes at the movies," MTV hosted a star-studded evening at the 2005 MTV Movie Awards. Host Jimmy Fallon was the ringmaster for the fourteenth annual show, held at the Shrine Auditorium in Hollywood, CA. Eminem, Mariah Carey, and Foo Fighters gave electrifying performances - as fans have come to expect from this high-energy event, which airs on MTV Thursday, June 9, at 8:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

Napoleon Dynamite and Mean Girls were the big winners of the night with 3 Golden Popcorn statuettes each. Last year's MTV Movie Awards host Lindsay Lohan nabbed "Best Female Performance" for an earnest teen adapting to the social perils of a new school in the hit comedy Mean Girls. Leonardo DiCaprio scored the win for "Best Male Performance" for his role as eccentric billionaire Howard Hughes in the biopic The Aviator.

In recognition of his iconic status to the MTV audience, Tom Cruise accepted the first-ever MTV Generation Award - from none other than his new sweetheart Katie Holmes. The audience also went wild for the nostalgic Breakfast Club reunion, as Molly Ringwald, Judd Nelson, Ally Sheedy, and Anthony Michael Hall accepted the Silver Bucket of Excellence Award. The band Yellowcard performed a rendition of the movie's legendary theme song, "Don't You (Forget About Me)," as clips from the classic '80s movie played on the giant screens in the background.

Threaded throughout the show were different "backlot scenes," set in giant letters that spelled out MOVIE, to reflect various film genres, which introduced the award categories. When the cast of the upcoming film Fantastic Four presented the Breakthrough Female award, they made their grand entrance through a giant catacomb. Jessica Biel and Emile Hirsch were "attacked" by zombie arms as they made their way onstage to present the Best Frightened Performance award. And Johnny Knoxville, Seann William Scott, and Jessica Simpson from the upcoming The Dukes of Hazzard movie introduced the Best Musical Performance award by entering through a subway car scene - where they came upon "subway musician" Jimmy Fallon. Other scenes included a nod to Japanese monster movies, a samurai sword fight, and a romantic love scene.

Winners are as follows:

Napoleon Dynamite (Fox Searchlight)

Leonardo DiCaprio - The Aviator (Miramax Films)

Lindsay Lohan - Mean Girls (Paramount Pictures)

Dustin Hoffman - Meet the Fockers (Universal Pictures)

Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Lacey Chabert, Amanda Seyfriend
Mean Girls(Paramount Pictures)

Ben Stiller - Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story (20th Century Fox)

Jon Heder - Napoleon Dynamite (Fox Searchlight)

Rachel McAdams - Mean Girls (Paramount Pictures)

Rachel McAdams & Ryan Gosling - The Notebook (New Line Cinema)

Daryl Hannah vs. Uma Thurman - Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Miramax Films)

Jon Heder - Napoleon Dynamite (Fox Searchlight)

Dakota Fanning - Hide and Seek (20th Century Fox)

"Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from ButcherBay" (Vivendi Universal

Destruction of Los Angeles, Roland Emmerich - Director
The Day After Tomorrow (20th Century Fox)

Other highlights from the show included:

The show kicked off with a hilarious parody of the new Batman film, with host Fallon, Andy Dick, and Jon Heder from Napoleon Dynamite. This was the first of several parodies that had the audience laughing in their seats. Fallon starred in a spoof of Stars Wars, while Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson spoofed their own film Wedding Crashers, which also featured Justin Long, and Pamela Anderson.

The opening monologue from Fallon led into the first award of the night, BEST ONSCREEN TEAM, presented by MTV Movie Award veterans Adam Sandler and Chris Rock, fresh off their huge box office win with The Longest Yard.

As always, the MTV Movie Awards musical performers blew the roof off the joint. First up was Eminem with a jaw-dropping medley of his new single "Ass Like That" (in his first televised performance of the song) and "Mockingbird." Never one to disappoint the fans who've come to expect over-the-top performances from the hip-hop artist, Eminem's set included a mosh pit full o' puppets. Mariah Carey glammed it up with a romantically retro performance of her sixteenth #1 single, "We Belong Together." Foo Fighters closed the night with a roaring rendition of their new hit "Best of You."

The evening drew to a climatic close as Tom Cruise and his War of the Worlds co-star Dakota Fanning presented the Best Movie Award to Napoleon Dynamite. Cruise and Fallon then walked offstage and straight into the MTV Movie Awards Post Show, which featured an exclusive War of the Worlds clip.

With typical MTV fanfare, the biggest names in Hollywood turned out for the show. Presenters included Tom Cruise, Hilary Swank, Nicole Kidman, Samuel L. Jackson, Jennifer Connelly, Johnny Knoxville, Hilary Duff, Sandra Bullock, Jessica Simpson, The Rock, Dakota Fanning, Eva Mendes, Rob Schneider, Vin Diesel, Jessica Alba, Sean William Scott, Michael Chiklis, Ziyi Zhang, Paul Walker, Terrence Howard, Jessica Biel, Iaon Gruffudd, Julian McMahon, Chris Evans, and Katie Holmes.

The 2005 MTV MOVIE AWARDS will be seen in 164 countries/territories via 42 music programming services, and in 18 languages in over 418.8 million households.

Joel Gallen of Tenth Planet Productions will serve as Executive Producer for the 2005 MTV MOVIE AWARDS with Salli Frattini serving as Executive Producer for MTV. Rick Austin and Josh Greenberg will serve as producers on the show and Kathy Flynn will serve as Event Producer.

Official sponsors of "The 2005 MTV Movie Awards" are Taco Bell, Dr. Pepper and your local Dr. Pepper Bottlers, Neutrogena, Virgin Mobile USA, Pontiac, L'oreal Paris, and Dentyne Fire.

MTV Networks, a unit of Viacom International Inc., is one of the world's leading creators of programming and content across all media platforms. MTV Networks, with 100 channels worldwide, owns and operates the following television programming services - MTV: MUSIC TELEVISION, MTV2, VH1, mtvU, NICKELODEON, NICK at NITE, COMEDY CENTRAL, TV LAND, SPIKE TV, CMT, NOGGIN, LOGO, MTVN INTERNATIONAL and THE DIGITAL SUITE FROM MTV NETWORKS, a package of 13 digital services, all of these networks are trademarks of MTV Networks. MTV Networks connects with its audiences through its robust consumer products businesses and its more than 80 interactive properties worldwide, including online, broadband, wireless and interactive television services and also has licensing agreements, joint ventures and syndication deals whereby all of its programming services can be seen worldwide.

Source: MTV

CONTACT: Jennifer DeGuzman, +1-212-846-7175,
jennifer.deguzman@mtvstaff.com, or Janine Iamunno, +1-212-846-6992,
janine.iamunno@mtvstaff.com both of MTV Communications; or Lindsey Schiff-
Abrams, +1-310-752-8082, Lindsay.schiff-abrams@mtvstaff.com, or Vanessa Reyes-
Smith, +1-310-752-8081, vanessa.reyes@mtvstaff.com, both of MTV

Web site: http://www.mtv.com/

<< Home