Hip Hop Press has moved: www.hiphoppress.com

You may also dig:
ProHipHop - Hip Hop Marketing & Business News
Weekly Hip Hop Albums - New Releases

Try World Cypher's Hip Hop Search Engine:


Splash - The Ripple Effect

August 3rd, 2005 -- As perhaps the current hardest working man in hip-hop, 9th Wonder's name has already been attached to several high profile releases in 2005, including albums with Buckshot, Jean Grae, Little Brother, Big Pooh of LB and his work with Destinys Child and Memphis Bleek. Yet, 9th Wonder still took time out of his busy schedule to speak on his recent work with North Carolina's own Splash, who drops "The Ripple Effect" on September 20th 2005.

"He was like the last local artist I wanted to mess with," said 9th. "I knew that after working with Jay-Z on The Black Album, things wouldn't be the same for me, but I made my decision that I wanted to work with him (Splash). The same can be said for The A.L.L.I.E.S, who I'm also working with." And as the story goes, right after 9th's big Black Album gig hit, he liked Splash so much that he said that Splash would be the last local (North Carolina) artist that he'd produce for (for cheap, that is).

9th explained that although Splash was still a virtual unknown, his dedication proved the recording process worthwhile. "He was driving three hours every weekend to meet up. He seemed really hungry and that's part of the reason why I wanted to work with him. A lot of cats will act like they are hungry, but will never show up, Splash wasn't like that. He didn't waste my time, he wanted to get it done," said 9th.

Splash's The Ripple Effect drops on 9-20-05 and out of the fourteen songs, includes nine tracks produced by 9th Wonder, with additional production and guest support from the Justus Leagues Khrysis, and L.E.G.A.C.Y and also guest spots from Jean Grae and Supastition.

Tracklisting and credits for Splashs The Ripple Effect:
1.) Intro (produced by DJ Elementz)
2.) Sun Splash (produced by 9th Wonder)
3.) Bobbn Ya Head (produced by 9th Wonder)
4.) Why (produced by 9th Wonder)
5.) Another Day f/Jean Grae (produced by Picasso)
6.) Do You (produced by 9th Wonder)
7.) So Feminine (produced by 9th Wonder)
8.) Fake Skit
9.) Fake Ones (produced by 9th Wonder)
10.) Home Skit
11.) Hold On (Almost Home) (produced by K Slack)
12.) Right On Time (produced by Khrysis)
13.) Feels Good (produced by 9th Wonder)
14.) Chatter f/L.E.G.A.C.Y. (produced by 9th Wonder)
15.) Life (produced by Picasso)
16.) Last Run f/Supastition (produced by Splash)
17.) Power Moves (produced by 9th Wonder)

# # #

To obtain a press copy of Splashs The Ripple Effect for review or interview purposes, please contact:
Matt Conaway@ Movement Marketing
Business #: 410-903-7568
E-Mail: Matthewbrn@aol.com
Alt E-Mail: mattyc@tmo.blackberry.net
AOL IM: Matthewbrn

<< Home