Hip Hop Press has moved: www.hiphoppress.com

You may also dig:
ProHipHop - Hip Hop Marketing & Business News
Weekly Hip Hop Albums - New Releases

Try World Cypher's Hip Hop Search Engine:


Slum Village Returns with a New Self-Titled Masterpiece and Inks Massive Deal with General Motors

September 29th, 2005

Detroit, MI--- Having severed ties with their former record company, Capitol Records, Slum Village (T-3 & Elzhi) has been anxious to return to the studio and release another musically masterful album and retain some control over its promotion. The new album will be released through the groups home label; Barak Records.

The new album, Slum Village will be in stores October 25, 2005. The first single, Ez Up? features newcomer J. Isaacs, a singer from Minnesota. The video for the blazing hot single was directed by Mike Taylor (Boyz in da Hood) and will be serviced to video outlets immediately.

Considered a liquid association, a group that is constantly changing and evolving. Slum Village will be including a DVD that will take a journey into their sometimes tumultuous, yet magical adventure in music. The group clears up rumors and questions about the numerous changes in the groups membership as well as their label status. The DVD features a fascinating 30-minute interview, which answers all of their fans questions. The album features production by B.R. Gunna, Young RJ and B.R. Gunna whose album Dirty District Vol. 2 (2004) reached #55 on the Billboard Charts.

Realizing how respected Slum Village is throughout the entire music industry, Barak Records also just finalized a deal in which T-3 and Elzhi will be appearing in nationally televised spots for Chevrolet and there new line of 2006 Impala and HHR automobiles. The homegrown union will include an integrated campaign with a music video feel, using Slums Ez Up? single; which will include an Ez Up Motor City remix and remixed lyrics. This deal is a very hip one for Chevrolet and one that will warrant intensive media coverage; radio spots will start airing in mid-October, with national TV spots running in early November, as Chevy and Slum Village bring the American Revolution home to Detroit. Further support for the album will be coming via the form of an exciting college tour currently being planned for the coming school semester. This will give Slum Village a unique opportunity to be seen by their largest fan base; college students.

In a unique partnership with Zingy (www.zingy.com) the new album will be available as a ring tone two weeks prior to its street date. This unique promotion is as cutting edge as the group itself. By fully tapping into to this new media, Slum Village will further solidify their intimate relationship with their fans.
"Ez Up"
real: http://www.barakrecords.com/audio/slum village_ezup.ram
quick time: http://www.barakrecords.com/audio/slum village_ezup.mov
windows media player: http://www.barakrecords.com/audio/slum village_ezup.wax

Tracklisting and credits for Slum Village:

1.) Giant (produced by Young RJ, co-produced by Carl Broaden)
2.) Set It (produced by B.R. Gunna)
3.) Can I Be Me (produced by Young RJ & B.R. Gunna)
4.) Call Me f/Dwele (produced by Young RJ & B.R. Gunna)
5.) 05 (produced by Young RJ)
6.) 1, 2 (produced by Moss)
7.) Multiply f/Melanie Rutherford(produced by Young RJ & B.R. Gunna)
8.) 1-800-S-L-U-M (produced by Young RJ)
9.) Hear This f/Black Milk & Que D. (produced by B.R. Gunna)
10.) Def Do Us(produced by Young RJ)
11.) Hell Naw (produced by B.R. Gunna)
12.) Ez Up f/J. Isaac (produced by Young RJ & B.R. Gunna)
13.) Fantastic (produced by Young RJ & Carl Broaden)


To obtain a press copy of Slum Village for review or interview purposes, please contact:
Matt Conaway@ Movement Marketing
Business #: 410-360-5957
Cell#: 410-903-7568
E-Mail: Matthewbrn@aol.com
Alt E-Mail: mattyc@tmo.blackberry.net
AOL IM: Matthewbrn

More information on Slum Village and their forthcoming album is available at: www.barakrecords.com

<< Home