Hip Hop Press has moved: www.hiphoppress.com

You may also dig:
ProHipHop - Hip Hop Marketing & Business News
Weekly Hip Hop Albums - New Releases

Try World Cypher's Hip Hop Search Engine:


Latest Installment From 'Now That's What I Call Music'

'Now Latino' Debuts #1 On The Billboard Latin Chart

Highest Debuting Spanish Language Compilation Ever!

NEW YORK, March 29 /PRNewswire/ -- Following the footsteps of prior Now That's What I Call Music CD releases, "Now Latino - Esto Es Musica!" has topped the charts! "Now Latino - Esto Es Musica!" takes the #1 spot on the Billboard Latin Chart making it the highest debuting Spanish language compilation ever. This first week success also makes Now Latino the highest debuting Spanish language album this year!

"This is a strong indication that Latin culture and demand for the Latin sound has become entrenched in America," said Marco Bissi, President and CEO EMI Music Latin America. "And Latin music is strong across a number of genres: Pop, Reggaeton, Rock and more, which is evident from artists on Now Latino, ranging from RBD and A.B. Quintanilla III presents Kumbia Kings to Thalia."

"Latin Music continues to grow and reach an ever widening audience. The release of Now Latino is further evidence of the genre's evolution ... the timing is perfect!" said Ruben Leyva, VP/GM Sony BMG U.S. Latin.

Including several #1's and Top 10's hits, Now Latino represents the best of current Latin and Reggaeton music available on one CD. This is the first Spanish language album to be released as part of the NOW franchise. Collectively the artists on Now Latino have sold over 20 million units in the U.S. to date.

"Universal Music Latino is excited to be a part of the introduction of Latin Music to the world's most recognized compilation brand. We look forward to expanding our artists' reach with the exposure this CD will garner," said John Echevarria, President Universal Music Latino.

Now That's What I Call Music! is the most consistent multi-platinum- selling music brand today -- it has achieved US sales of more than 55 million units to become the most successful multi-artist series of all time. NOW is an unprecedented cooperative project between EMI Music, The Universal Music Group, Sony BMG Music Entertainment and the Zomba Group of labels. Since it was introduced in the United States seven years ago, the series has been known as a harbinger of contemporary tastes and a reflection of the most popular music of the day. Every single CD in the Now That's What I Call Music series has been certified platinum or multi-platinum, and NOW remains the most successful branded compilation ever launched in the music business, with continual, massive chart and sales successes.

The series debuted in the United States in 1998 after the NOW brand had been an enormous, multi-platinum international success for nearly 20 years, with some 56 volumes featuring pop hits released in the UK alone. To date, the NOW series has generated sales of 146 million albums worldwide. Every album in the US NOW series has reached the Billboard Top 10 and eight have now debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200, making NOW the only non-soundtrack, multi-artist collection to occupy the top spot on this distinguished album sales chart.

Track Listing

1. Rompe -- Daddy Yankee,
2. Ella y Yo -- Aventura, featuring Don Omar
3. Para Tu Amor -- Juanes
4. Daria -- La 5ta Estacion
5. Nuestro Amor -- RBD
6. Na Na Na (Dulce Nina) -- A.B. Quintanilla III presents Kumbia Kings
7. No Te Preocupes Por Mi -- Chayanne
8. Llame Pa' Verte (Bailando Sexy) -- Wisin & Yandel
9. Malo -- BEBE
10. Acompaname A Estar Solo -- Ricardo Arjona
11. Estoy Perdido -- Luis Fonsi
12. Seduccion -- Thalia
13. La Locura Automatica -- La Secta Allstar
14. Eso Ehh! -- Alexis & Fido
15. Yo Voy -- Zion & Lennox
16. Ven Bailalo -- Angel & Khriz
17. Amor Eterno -- Christian Castro
18. Noviembre Sin Ti -- Reik
19. Suelta Mi Mano -- Sin Bandera
20. Para Vivir -- Alejandro Fernandez

Source: Sony BMG

CONTACT: Angela Salomon, Sony BMG Entertainment 212-833-8575

Web site: http://www.bmg.com/

<< Home